What Me Mam Taught Me

We buried my Mam last friday – it was a beautiful day and our whole family came together to celebrate her life. We sang at her graveside. scattered peonies, soil from Ireland and holy water from St Brigid’s shrine onto her coffin while my mate Ged played the flute.

 A few weeks before she died, she asked if i would do her eulogy.  How do i write about a woman who achieved so much and touched the hearts of so many people?  I purposely left it till the morning of the funeral and went for a swim and whilst travelling up and down the pool, i gathered these words together and loads of people have asked me for a copy, so here it is

What Me Mam Taught Me

 

How to dream

That God is free

That love isn’t all you need

What Me Mam Taught Me

 

She taught me

That I lived in the greatest city on earth

How to show my value as well as my worth

Success only comes through hard work

What Me Mam Taught Me

 

She taught me

That my family will see me through                                  

Maureen Seamus Patricia Theresa Chris and Hugh

She said, “If you work with them, they’ll work with you”

What Me Mam Taught Me

 

She taught me

That charity begins at home

That it’s good to spend some time alone

Say something positive, don’t just moan

What Me Mam Taught Me

 

To Travel

To sail eight of the seven seas

That solitude is a dead good beach

That a caravan in wales isn’t all you need

What Me Mam Taught Me

 

To find beauty in the angry young man

To have as many kids as you can

To only have a Silver Cross Pram

What Me Mam Taught Me

 

She said that

Through reading and writing I would escape

That I could always have my say

To say a prayer every single day

What Me Mam Taught Me

 

 

She taught me

Drink too much & I’ll be depressed

If I take drugs I’ll be a mess

Eat too much food I’ll be obessed (she really said obese but that wouldn’t have rhymed)

What Me Mam Taught Me

To swim

To dance

To show true precision

To have confidence in all my decisions

For everyday to be a mission

What Me Mam Taught Me

 

Don’t want to be in, it’s better to be out

A whisper can be louder than a shout

To put my brain in gear before I use my mouth (I’m still working on this one)

What Me Mam Taught Me

 

To take life slow don’t live too fast

To live each day as if your last

Abstain from meat and on Friday fast

What Me Mam Taught Me

 

If someone’s down, pick them up

If someone’s thirsty, give them your cup

If someone’s bored, give them a book

What Me Mam Taught Me

If someone’s homeless, take them in

That God will always forgive a sin

To put my litter in the bin

What Me Mam Taught Me

 

That Women’s Lib is nothing to do with burning bras

That if you believe in yourself you will go far

To always drive a Nissan car

What Me Mam Taught Me

 

She said

Michael, tell them not to cry

Because I have live such a fantastic life

And you can see me in all the children’s eyes

 

That a sunset is someone you love saying goodbye

Did you see the sunset on Thursday night?

So no sadness today, let’s celebrate her life

What Me Mam Taught Me

 

 

4 thoughts on “What Me Mam Taught Me

  1. My sincere condolences on your loss.. such beautiful and heartfelt words that I’m sure made everyone feel the pride you do as her son..

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,985 other followers

