Godisamanc's Blog

I met Bryan Glancy in 1985.

My brother put on an event at the green room in Manchester where Bryan, Dave Hulston, Henry Normal and others, whose names have escaped me,  performed music and poetry. I Loved his tunes but it was his welcoming personality that gripped me.  Something about his boyish vulnerability.  I felt like i was looking in a mirror.

After the green room gig, we met up on a regular basis at his family home in Prestwich, where he’d play me new songs he’d been working on or we’d listen to Dylan and Bolan and Bowie.  These meeting always finished with a trip around an array of alcohol distributors in the city.

Bryan and Dave then got a residency at Manchester Poly Students Union on Oxford road where every Tuesday night they would perform brilliant tunes and students would ignore them.  I used to bring gangs of mates…

View original post 1,528 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. I never met Bryan Glancy but a friend introduced me to his music in the late eighties. Just been singing ‘Whats in a kiss’ and thought of him again. Hope he entertaining the angels somewhere. He was like a favorite film that echos in my mind.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

