A poem for the beautiful young men of Barton Moss

I work with a group of young men aged between 12-15 @ barton moss secure unit – They are ace and really buzz on the poems and I love working there – They are having a fund raiser in october for Bernardos but i can’t attend it because i’m on in Birmingham with John Cooper Clarke so they asked me to write a poem that will be read out on the night & then buried in a time capsule and re-opened in 10 year.

Here’s my poem i wrote for them

Help me get to Sleep Tonight

wrap your arms around me
hold me tight
sing me a lullaby
to help me get to sleep tonight

Unfurl that clenched fist
There’s nothing wrong with missing your mam
or wanting to be kissed
like that time she leant into your pram

sound words in the big house
chains entangled for our own good
there’s nothing wrong with crying now
Tears flow quicker than blood

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.